National Literacy Scheme (NLS) was set up by the government of India on 5th May 1988 with an aim to eradicate illiteracy in the country by imparting functional literacy to non-literates. Thus, National Literacy Scheme (NLS) was established not only to make everybody just self reliant in three reading, writing and arithmetic but also to make them aware of the development issues affecting the society. The National Literacy Mission (NLS) has two flagship programmes. Total literacy programmes and Post literacy Programme through which it gives shape to its aims.